This application must be submitted to the Property Valuation Administrator’s (PVA) Office during the year in which exemption is sought. No need to wait until your birthday, come in now to apply.
What Homestead Exemption Means
Under the provisions of the Homestead Amendment, a person or persons must be 65 years of age or older or totally disabled during the year for which application is made, and must own, occupy and maintain a residential unit for such exemption.
The Homestead Exemption amount is determined by the Legislature every 2 years based upon the cost of living index. For 2020 and 2021, the amount of the Exemption is $40,500.
A person or persons owning, living in and maintaining a residential unit must meet the 65 years of age requirement. If only one spouse is 65, the age requirement is met.
Verification of Age Date of birth of the applicant(s) must be established by a substantiating document, such as:
- Primary Sources of Proof of Age:
- State of Kentucky issued ID
- Red, White and Blue Medicare Card Issued by Social Security
- Birth certificate or birth registration
- Confirmation or baptismal records
- Medical Assistance Card carrying an A or J prefix to Social Security Number
- Secondary Sources of Proof of Age:
- Insurance policies
- Marriage records
- School records
Under the provisions of Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) 132,990(1), "Any person who willfully fails to supply the property valuation administrator or the revenue cabinet with a complete list of his property and such facts with regard thereto as may be required or who violates any of the provisions of KRS 132.570 shall be fined not more that five hundred dollars ($500)."